State Biodiversity Board: Odisha State

Odisha Biodiversity Board is a statutory body established under the Biological Diversity Act 2002. The prime objective of the Board is to implement various provisions of the Biological Diversity Act 2002 and Rules framed at national and state level and documentation of biological resources, their conservation and sustainable use and equitable sharing of benefits of the rich biodiversity of the state.

Government of Odisha constituted the Board vide Govt. Order No. 10F (TR)-61/2008-18823/F&E, dated 11.11.2009 and again it was reconstituted in 2012 vide Govt. Order No. OBB-19/2012-20674 dated: 07-11-2012. Board is headed by the Chairperson and has 9 members from government departments and eminent persons representing academicians, researchers, civil society groups etc. The board is recently re-constituted by the state Government vide notification no. 10F (TR) 42/2015/20859/F&E, Bhubaneswar, dated 26.11.15.

Present constitution of the board is as below: -

Sl. NoNameDesignation
1 Dr. J.P. Singh, Chairman cum PCCF Chairperson
2 Secretary,Agriculture Department Member
3 Secretary,Fisheries and ARD Department Member
4 PCCF (Wildlife), Odisha Member
5 Chief Executive, RPRC, BBSR Member Secretary
6 Dr. P.K. Das, Dean, OUAT(Retd), Agriculture Scientist Member
7 Dr. Prabhu Charan Lenka, (Retd) Prof. Horticulture & DPME, OUAT Bhubaneswar Member
8 Dr. B.C. Guru (Retd. Prof) Department of Zoology, Utkal University Member
9 Dr. P.C. Bisoi (Dean Retd.), College of Veterinary, OUAT Member
10 Representative of M.S. Swaminathan Foundation, Jeypore Member

Non-official member of the board hold office for a term of three years from the date of his appointment.

Human Resource

  • Project co-coordinator - one
  • Botanist - one
  • Zoologist - one
  • Accountant - one
  • Data entry operator - one

Important Links